Public Service Media: Audience Acceptance and Future Opportunities.

A cooperation of the Institute for Multimedia Production (IMP) at HTW Chur and the Seminar for Media Studies (SfM), University of Basel, Switzerland.

Audio-visual information and entertainment programs of publicly financed (and some private broadcasting services) are considered to be the heart of public service media in Switzerland and other countries. The statutory goal of public service media and to some extend local private stations is to facilitate an overall public debate, an informed society, cultural development and integration.

With online forms of media emerging, the usage pattern of especially younger target groups has changed dramatically and the financing of public service media is being questioned by the general public and politicians. If public service broadcasters and private stations with a performance mandate fail to adjust their range of programmes according to the needs of a younger audience, the generation of future viewers, this problem will increase.

This is the background of the project. A first goal is to analyse usage guidelines, preferences and attitudes of a younger target audience towards public service media in a time of an increasingly online, mobile and non-linear media world. Secondly, this project also analyses current and newly developed formats which could have the potential to be future program innovations that are aligned with the usage patterns of and accepted by a younger target audience.

Such innovative audio-visual formats often require different production processes which leads to the question what kinds of new organisational forms and work processes might be needed. Out of the new insights, recommendations for the transformation process of public service media and private media organisations with a public mandate will be given.

The realisation of this research project will happen in the following steps:

1.) Analysis of the media usage behaviour based on a secondary analysis of existing usage data and a representative quantitative survey on a) (audio-visual) media usage and b) the attitude towards public service broadcasters in the age group 14-35. This survey will connect usage modalities and ideas of personal and public value that have not been covered yet.

2.) Analysis of innovative audio-visual formats that are relevant to inform a democratic society (best-practice examples) and their strategies, forms of organisation and production processes of public as well as private broadcast companies in Switzerland and abroad (meaning the SRG, broadcast companies that are financed by licence fees and European public and private broadcast corporations).

3.) Conducting discussions and individual experimental surveys with groups of people and individuals aged 14-35 to validate the survey which will collect data on the attitude and preference of younger target groups towards public service media;

4.) On the basis of the collected data, suggestions for transforming public service media and private broadcast companies with a journalistic goal in the future will be developed. This includes a validation of these suggestions by experts from Switzerland and abroad.

5.) Theoretically sound continuation of the public debate on public service media.

Analysing the requirements of younger target audiences allows to investigate the mindset of that hard-to-get young generation which is so central to public service broadcast companies and private broadcast companies with public service offers on an empirical basis. This is why this project is vital and relevant to the current situation of public service broadcasters.

Combined with the analysis of audio-visual formats that are relevant to democracy and society, it can be shown what public service broadcasters lack compared to new online services such as YouTube, YouNow, rocketbeans.tv or private TV service providers and which new opportunities exist for such new forms to be integrated into the SRG SSR or other providers with an performance mandate. This would support the goal of maintaining public service broadcasters and their vital role for democratic societies. The vote on the abolishment of the Swiss broadcasting fee (“No-Billag” vote”) in early 2018 intensified the public and political debate on the future of public service media in Switzerland. While getting rid of the broadcasting fee was rejected with 71,6 % voting “no”, the debate on how to organise the financing of public service media is ongoing. This debate is not only a Swiss phenomenon, changing or even disestablishing public service media institutions is being discussed worldwide. This project makes a substantial contribution of information and clarification in this media policy debate.

Projektbeschreibung

Fortschreitender Akzeptanzverlust beim Zielpublikum – die Zukunft des Service public auf dem Prüfstand

Die audiovisuellen Informations- und Unterhaltungsprogramme des öffentlichen Rundfunks galten in der Schweiz und in anderen Ländern bislang als Kern des “Service public”, welcher einen demokratie- und gesellschaftspolitisch relevanten Beitrag zur Information, Debatte, kulturellen Entfaltung und Integration zu leisten hatte. In beschränktem Mass weist der Schweizerische Gesetzgeber auch den konzessionierten lokal-regionalen Privatsendern einen solchen Leistungsauftrag zu.

Das Aufkommen unterschiedlicher Online-Medien und die damit einhergehende Veränderung des Mediennutzungsverhaltens besonders bei jüngeren Zielgruppen haben dazu geführt, dass breite Teile der Bevölkerung und der Politik das gebührenbasierte Finanzierungs- und das auf gesellschaftliche Partizipation und Integration angelegte Organisationsmodell des Service public in Frage stellen. Dieses Problem dürfte sich verschärfen, wenn es öffentlichen Rundfunkorganisationen und Privatsendern mit Leistungsauftrag nicht gelingt, ihr audiovisuelles Programmangebot zukünftig an die Bedürfnisse der jüngeren Zielgruppe, also der nachwachsenden Generation erfolgreich anzupassen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund untersucht das Projekt zum einen die Nutzungsmodalitäten, -präferenzen und Einstellungen der jüngeren Zielgruppen in Zeiten einer zunehmend online-, mobil- und nichtlinear geprägten Medienwelt. Zum anderen wird analysiert, welche bestehenden und neue entwickelten Formate das Potenzial als demokratierelevante audiovisuelle Programminnovationen bieten, die an das neue Nutzungsverhalten des jüngeren Publikums angepasst sind und bei ihm auf Akzeptanz stossen.

Solche innovativen audiovisuellen Formate bedingen oft andere Produktionsprozesse. Folglich stellt sich die Frage, welche veränderten Organisationsformen und Arbeitsabläufe zu deren Umsetzung benötigt werden. Aus den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen sollen Vorschläge für die Transformation von öffentlichen und privaten Medienorganisationen entwickelt werden, die einen publizistischen Leistungsauftrag erfüllen wollen, sollen oder müssen.

Zur Umsetzung dieses Forschungsvorhabens ist ein mehrstufiges Verfahren geplant:

1.) Analyse des (audiovisuellen) Mediennutzungsverhaltens auf Grundlage einer Sekundäranalyse vorliegender Nutzungsdaten sowie einer repräsentativen, quantitativen Befragung zur a) (audiovisuellen) Mediennutzung und b) Einstellung gegenüber Service public-Angeboten der Altersgruppe 14-35 zur Neuerhebung bislang nicht systematisch und vertieft verfügbarer Nutzungsmodalitäten;

2.) Analyse von innovativen demokratierelevanten audiovisuellen Formaten (Best-practice-Beispiele) und den damit verbundenen Strategien, Organisationsformen und Produktionsprozessen bei öffentlichen und privaten Rundfunkunternehmen im In- und Ausland (SRG; gebührenfinanzierte Lokal-Regionalsender; ausländische öffentliche und private Sender in Europa);

3.) Durchführung von Diskussionen mit jüngeren Personen (Alter 14-35 Jahre) zur Validierung der Umfrage und Erhebung der Einstellungen und Präferenzen junger Zielgruppen gegenüber dem öffentlichen Rundfunk;

4.) Erarbeitung von Vorschlägen zur Transformation des öffentlichen Rundfunks und privater Rundfunkangebote mit publizistischer Zielsetzung für die Zukunft auf Grundlage der erhobenen Daten. Dies beinhaltet auch eine externe Validierung der Vorschläge in  Roundtables mit in- und ausländischen Experten;

5.) Theoretisch fundierte Weiterführung der in der Öffentlichkeit geführten Debatte.

Zur Bedeutung und Aktualität des Projekts: Die Analyse der Publikumsbedürfnisse junger Zielgruppen erlaubt es, das “Mindset” der für öffentliche Rundfunkorganisationen und private Rundfunkorganisationen mit Service-public-Angeboten zunehmend schwieriger zu erreichenden ‘jungen’ Generation auf empirischer Basis zu untersuchen. In Kombination mit der Analyse demokratierelevanter audiovisueller Formate lässt sich aufzeigen, woran es dem audiovisuellen Angebot des öffentlichen Rundfunks gegenüber neuen Online-Angeboten wie YouTube, YouNow, rocketbeans.tv oder privater TV-Anbieter mangelt und welche Möglichkeiten es gäbe, solche neuen Formen bei der SRG SSR oder weiteren Anbietern mit Leistungsauftrag zu integrieren und insbesondere dem öffentlichen Rundfunk seine bislang wesentliche Rolle für die demokratische Gesellschaft zu erhalten. Im Jahr 2018 wird es aufgrund der voraussichtlich durchgeführten Abstimmung zur Abschaffung der Rundfunk-/Haushaltsgebühr (No-Billag-Abstimmung) zu einer Intensivierung der politischen Debatte über die Zukunft des Service public in der Schweiz kommen. Das Projekt leistet einen substantiellen Beitrag der Aufklärung in der zu erwartenden medienpolitischen Debatte.